What is the best advice you’ve received? by Hemanth Kumar Tirupati

Answer by Hemanth Kumar Tirupati:

Forget the phrases could have/should have

Here’s a discussion between me and my friend

CONTEXT: I scored 191 out of 276 (class XI JEE objective practice test) and from the scores of other people, statistically a score above 200 turned out to be good.

Me: I have committed some very silly calculation mistakes in Maths, some interpretation mistakes in Physics or else I could have easily scored more than 200. What’s your score?

He: I scored 211.

Me: Congrats! Most of the questions I lost are so easy that anyone can solve them. If those silly questions weren’t gone wrong …[ I RECOUNTED]… my marks should have been 214.

He:There is no such thing as could have/should have. You just didn’t score. Do you think I haven’t lost marks because of questions like that? Do you think the top scorers haven’t lost marks on similar lines? Everyone has their own weak spots.”

I thought that guy was just rude then. After half a year I saw myself not improving, committing similar or some new kind of mistakes in every exam. Every time I satisfied myself with a cock-and-bull story.

I understood that I was losing not because of the situation/bad luck but because of my actions. I realised I just didn’t do what it takes to get better. Then it was clear to me that I was committing a similar mistake in many situations of my life.

Stop wasting time telling yourself/others about what could have happened If you have done things differently. It doesn’t take you any where. Instead start working on what it takes to get what you want.

-Hem

What is the best advice you’ve received?

Leave a Reply

